2013

It’s that time of year…Christmas is over, New Years is around the corner, and it’s time to once again make “New Year’s Resolutions!” Whether or not you officially make new year’s resolutions, the start of a new year seems to inspire most everyone to a fresh start in some way or another. We all love the idea of turning over a new leaf, making good decisions, setting goals and achieving them, and feeling accomplished! The new year seems like a great time to evaluate not only the year ahead, but also the one that is coming to a close.

20121231-085534.jpg

In the week between Christmas and New Years, I love to do a review of the past year, thinking about the major events that happened in my life, the things I accomplished, the lessons I learned, and how I grew as a person. I tend to do a lot of journaling around this time, as well as jotting down ideas and goals for the new year.

I’m most definitely a “list person” and I get a crazy sort of high from crossing things off a checklist. πŸ˜‰ Therefore, I LOVE to make goals so I have some sort of vision for the year ahead. For me, these goals aren’t typical new year’s resolutions like “lose weight, make more money, clean out my closet, buy a house.” Instead, I like to make more “holistic” goals that encompass all areas of life:

Relationships:

Some of my goals are about relationships that I want to invest in more in the coming year. Friendships that I want to devote more time to, and ways that I want to connect more fully with loved ones.

Hobbies and Interests:

Some of my goals are about new hobbies or activities that I want to try. For example, in 2013, I want to complete one of the infamous “mud runs” because I think that would be hilariously fun! Last year one of my goals was to take up swimming because I’d literally NEVER learned how to swim laps in a pool. I bought a one-piece suit, goggles and a cap, and had a friend teach me the basic form. I’d taken swim lessons as a kid but definitely needed a refresher. Now, 9 months later, I can confidently jump in the pool and swim over 1600 yds for fun. Love it! It’s these kinds of things that make life more enjoyable…taking up new interests and passions just for the fun of it! Not because you have to or to impress anyone else, but just to enjoy the discovery of learning something new. πŸ™‚

20121231-085554.jpg

Personal Growth:

Another portion of my goals are about spiritual and emotional development. I usually write down some areas of my life that need growth or character traits that I want to develop more in the year ahead. This includes things like: patience, loyalty, joy, good listening skills, more generosity, etc. Another great goal for this area would be to watch less TV/movies and do more reading!

Health Goals:

I also love to think about some health goals for myself that will help me live more joyfully, enjoy each day fully, and have more energy for life! These goals include things like: get to bed earlier, take more walks outside, drink less coffee and more tea, and eat more leafy, green vegetables. πŸ˜‰ Again, it’s not about a crash diet or a resolution to lose weight, but instead it’s about taking care of my body, in order to live a energetic and passionate life. πŸ™‚

20121231-085610.jpg

As you can see, my goals aren’t exactly the traditional “New Year’s Resolutions” but they’re definitely good ways for me to enter the new year with purpose and passion! Even if you’re not a goal-oriented person like me, consider setting at least one or two goals for 2013 that will help you grow as a person and enjoy life more fully! Think about a relationship you want to invest in more fully or a new hobby you’d like to learn…and then go for it! What do you have to lose?

Happy New Year!!

One thought on “2013

  1. Pingback: “Legs Day” and Enjoying the Present Moment « hopefuleveryday

Share your thoughts!

