Finally, Some Snow! …and a couple at-home workouts!

SNOW!!

Yes, good ol’ Saint Louis got some SNOW last night! We were predicted to get a little bit on Christmas Day evening, which never really came. Fail. However, we got a beautiful couple inches of it last night, which wasn’t really predicted at all! The temperatures hovered right around 32 so it could have gone either way. I’ll take the gorgeous snow! The roads weren’t bad at all this morning because it was just enough to make things pretty. πŸ™‚

I woke up around 7 this morning and did this short Youtube yoga workout in the comfort of my bedroom where it was nice and warm. It was a very relaxing and refreshing start to my day! Then I leashed up the beagle for a short walk in the snow. She is such a wimp and acted like her paws were going to fall off, as she daintily picked her way down the street. Makes me laugh, that one.

20121229-125947.jpg
After my cheeks and nose were sufficiently numbed, I came inside and enjoyed a mug of warm lemon water while chatting with my mom.

BASEMENT WORKOUTS!

A few weeks before Christmas, my mom started bringing up the idea of getting in shape and having me design some workouts for her. My mom has always been a very active woman and loves to hike, bike and walk with my dad on their vacations. She’s not by any means overweight but wants to get more “toned” and build some muscle. πŸ˜‰

We joked back and forth for a few weeks about me being her “personal trainer” but it wasn’t til the day after Christmas that we finally got down to business and got our sweat on together. My parents have a fair amount of workout equipment in our basement, including a treadmill, elliptical machine, bench with bar/weights, and numerous free weights.

On Wednesday, I created a short and sweet (and sweaty!) abs and core workout for Mom to do. I was a little nervous because:

1) I’m a Holistic Health Coach, but NOT a personal trainer! Although I’ve done TONS of research about workouts and love to create workouts for myself, I’m not officially qualified to train someone.

2) I know what works for ME, but I don’t know how to evaluate someone else’s fitness level and create an appropriate workout for THEM.

Well, it must have been a success, because Mom said her abs were on fire the whole time and the next day she definitely felt it! Win!

Here’s the circuit workout I created for her; you don’t need any equipment except a big stability ball and a weight to hold for the Russian twists.

20121229-131003.jpg
On Friday, we decided to tackle the legs so I designed a simple but effective workout for her that focused on basic exercises like squats and lunges. Since my mom is just getting back into working out, we did most of the squats and lunges with light weights, but she plans to continue increasing the weight over time to get even better results!

Here’s the leg workout I designed for Mom, along with some extra notes about improving stability and balance, which are areas she wants to work on:

20121229-131222.jpg
When it’s cold and dreary outside, I tend to opt for at-home workouts so I can stay in the comfort of my own home. Even if you don’t have a lot of equipment in your home or basement, there are tons of bodyweight exercises you can do that will definitely have you sweating! Think pushups, lunges, squats, mountain climbers, tricep dips, etc! If you intersperse some cardio bursts (jumping jacks, fast feet, jump squats) in between the exercises, you’ll really get your heart rate up!

I’m off to drink some Gingerbread Spice tea and start a new book!

Share your thoughts!

