Post-Thanksgiving Ab Workout!

Thanksgiving is often looked upon as an opportunity to throw all semblance of a diet caution to the wind and enjoy every fattening food you can possibly imagine. And there’s definitely nothing wrong with indulging as a special treat and eating some things you might not want in your diet every day. Enjoy the special time with family and friends – and enjoy a piece of pie if you want!

For Thanksgiving this year, my family had another family over for the midday feast. They are lifelong friends that my siblings and I pretty much grew up with, and we are still great friends to this day! Their family brought over a few dishes for the meal and we my mom made a few as well. The result was an enormous spread of delicious casseroles, green beans, stuffing, turkey, sweet potatoes, rolls, corn, and cranberry jello. Yummm!

Since I eat gluten-free, I filled up on the sweet potatoes, green beans, and spinach casserole. I’m pretty sure I had 4 helpings of sweet potatoes. My mom cubes them and bakes them in the oven with some olive oil and rosemary and they are so delicious!

I had time for a quick workout this morning and decided to knock out some abs exercises! I don’t focus a lot on my abs because they get worked in a roundabout way by other weight-lifting exercises I do throughout the week. I also find that running keeps my abs pretty naturally flat. However, I love creating ab workouts and challenging myself to “feel the burn.” Β πŸ˜‰

Here’s the random medley I created today:

60 Second Plank on Elbows (add variations such as lifting one leg and then the other, if you desire!)

50 Crunches on Stability Ball

40 Knees to Elbows, hanging from chin-up bar

30 Russian Ball Twists, holding 15lb dumbbell

20 Scissor Legs (10 on each leg)

10 Dumbbell Side Bend with 40lb dumbbell (10 on each side)
Repeat this sequence 3 times for a great overall ab workout!

And, just for fun, I had to include some hilarious “abs ecards” that made me laugh today…

 

Enjoy the rest of your weekend! πŸ™‚

 

Share your thoughts!

