Sneaky Spinach

For several years now, I’ve read post after post from bloggers who swear by the awesome “green smoothies” that they drink all the time. I’ll be honest, I was skeptical. Partly because these “green smoothies” include SPINACH, which sounded rather disgusting to me. Don’t get me wrong, I love spinach; I eat spinach salads quite often. But, putting Β spinach in a SMOOTHIE? That didn’t sound very tasty to me. Every blogger that wrote about these wonderful green smoothies would always promise, “You can’t even taste the spinach!” and I always thought, “Oh reeeeeally?” Β  πŸ˜‰

Despite the odd color, this really was delicious!

Well, I finally decided to put my fears aside and give these spinach smoothies a try! I’d read somewhere on a blog (I think it was Julie’s) that the key to “not tasting the spinach” was to include a banana in the concoction. Β With some trepidation, and a whole lot of skepticism, I threw some raw spinach into my blender, added some water, and sliced half a banana on top. After I’d given the blender plenty of time to completelyΒ liquefyΒ the mixture, I added some frozen blueberries (just for fun) and some of my favorite vanilla protein powder.

After another minute or two of blending, I poured the green somewhat purple smoothie into a tumbler and dove in for a taste test! And Β  Β  Β it was surprisingly delicious! I truly Β couldn’t taste the spinach at all, and the smoothie basically tasted like banana-blueberry, with a hint of vanilla. Yum! Β The best part of the whole creation was that I ingested about 2 cups of raw spinach, without even tasting it. Not that I mind the taste of spinach, but if I can eat it through a delicious banana-blueberry smoothie, why not? πŸ™‚

So, there you have it! I’ve officially jumped on-board the green smoothie bandwagon. Β πŸ˜› Β If you’re looking for a simple and delicious way to sneak some extra greens into your diet, give this a try! I promise, you really can’t taste the spinach. Β πŸ˜‰

BASIC GREEN SMOOTHIE RECIPE:

Β  Β  Β  – 2 handfuls/cups of raw spinach

Β  Β  Β  – 1/2 banana

Β  Β  Β  – 1/2 cup frozen blueberries (or other frozen fruit)

Β  Β  Β – enough water to liquefyΒ 

Β  Β  Β – 1 scoop protein powder of your choice

Β  Β  Β  Mix all ingredients in a blender until smooth. Pour into an awesome tumbler of your depressing hometown football team, and enjoy with a straw! Β πŸ˜‰

 

 

In other news…

– I got my VOTE on today! And I have a sticker to show for it. Β πŸ˜€ Β I went around 2pm and only had to wait 5 minutes in line! Win, win!

Β  Β – I’m going to knock out a couple more hours of studying and then I’m off to the Neon Night Run with Big River Running Company! A is going to meet me there and then spend the night afterward. Some hot tea and election-results viewing is definitely on tap for tonight!

One thought on “Sneaky Spinach

  1. Pingback: Goin’ to the Chapel… « hopefuleveryday

Share your thoughts!

