“Perfect” People

Fall is by far my favorite season of the year. I love the changing leaves, the brisk temperatures, the chance to wear jeans and sweaters again, and sipping hot tea without breaking out in a sweat. Β πŸ˜‰ This morning I decided to run to my gym, which is about 2.5 miles away, workout there, and run back. It was a fun adventure! I kept a nice, easy pace on both segments of the run so I wouldn’t wear myself out too much. At the gym, I did an upper body workout in the weights room and it felt good to pump iron again. This past week’s workouts were mostly running and hiking, and I missed the strength training. After I ran home, I grabbed Cocoa for a walk and we covered a little over 3 miles together. It’s a beautiful, sunny, fall day here in St Louis and I’m loving it!

Staying warm at the Trunk or Treat

My friend A spent the night on Tuesday. She came over to do a “makeup trial run” with my sister before her wedding (which is in a couple weeks!!). The makeup turned out really well and looked beautiful on my sis. A is going to do makeup for us bridesmaids too; I’m so glad I don’t have to do it myself because I’m really not that experienced when it comes to makeup! On Wednesday night, A and I went to her church’s mid-week service and afterward they had a Trunk or Treat in the parking lot for all the kids! It was so much fun. Each of the small groups from the church had a theme for the vehicle they decorated…and then handed out candy from the back of the car. The kids were so cute in their costumes and even though most of the adults didn’t dress up, it was still a fun way to enjoy the Halloween evening. πŸ™‚

Random thought that has been on my mind lately:Β 

On Tuesday, I was having coffee with a friend that I’ve known casually through church for almost a year, but never gotten together with one-on-one. She texted me a couple weeks ago out of the blue and after a short conversation, we decided a coffee date was in order. πŸ™‚ It was really great to get to know her more and hear about her life and story. She’s an amazing woman who has been through a lot of difficult things in life. I also opened up to her a lot about my own story and the various things I’ve experienced in life. Near the end of the conversation, she cautiously said to me,

“I don’t want this to come across the wrong way, but I never felt comfortable getting to know you because I always thought to myself ‘oh, Hope seems to be living a ‘perfect’ life..we probably wouldn’t have much in common or much to connect over, because she seems to have it all together.’ But it’s been so good to get to know you more today and to realize that you’re not like that. You’re a very Β normal person and very easy to relate to.”

Even though she didn’t say it this way, I think what she was basically getting at was this: “It’s nice to know you’re not perfect! Because perfect people are intimidating!” Β Haha, yes, I am FAR from perfect! In fact, I’m often one of those girls who looks at OTHER girls I know and thinks, “Wow, they seem to have it all together and never have a problem or struggle in the world!” Β  When I look at someone who seems perfect and perfectly put together in every way, it does intimidate me and keeps me from reaching out to get to know them more. I think most people would probably agree that it’s much easier to relate to someone who seems human and flawed just like the rest of us. I definitely don’t have my life and future perfectly figured out and that’s okay! When I look at the people in my life who are my closest friends, I realize that one of the things in common with all of them is that they don’t give off an air of perfection and don’t make ME feel bad for not being perfect either! It’s so much easier to relax around people who are like that – you feel accepted, loved, and free to be yourself.

One of the things that has often bugged me about blogs – both reading them and writing them – is that it’s easy for the blogger to come across as perfect. I know I often read blogs and think, “Wow, this person never has a bad day! Or if they do, it’s not NEARLY as bad as MY bad days! And they always have the energy to work out, they always eat healthy, they always get out and do fun social activities, etc etc etc” Β  Then, when I wake up on the wrong side of the bed, don’t feel like working out, eat a whole bag of pretzels in one sitting, and stay at home watching movies all night, I feel like a complete loser! haha.

Seriously, though, it’s so easy to compare ourselves to others and feel inferior or envious. But the truth is, even the bloggers who seems to have perfect lives with perfect spouses/partners and perfect jobs and perfect eating habits (if there even is such a thing) really do have bad days, fights with their spouse, lazy nights at home doing nothing, and all of that. We might not read about it on their blog, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t there. Everyone has bad days. I had one yesterday, in fact. I have been having some health problems lately and one of my symptoms is that I get extremely dizzy and lightheaded…and almost pass out on occasion. Yesterday I woke up feeling really dizzy, nauseous, and definitely not in the mood for a workout. I pretty much laid around all day, watching Netflix, eating food, trying to study, and snuggling with my dog. I was feeling kinda down on myself for having a bad day and for not being out and about, but then I realized how stupid that was! By the time I went to bed last night, I’d decided to stop making myself feel guilty about the tough day and instead to give myself GRACE. It’s much more peaceful and enjoyable that way. πŸ™‚

Now that I’ve rambled on about this for quite long enough, I’ll leave you with a picture of something small that made me smile this afternoon: Freshly painted nails! Girly, I know. Oh well! πŸ˜›

My favorite nail color for fall – purple!

Share your thoughts!

