Flying By!

Whew, this week has been crazy!

Saturday was the boyfriend’s birthday, but since we had another friend’s birthday party that night, we celebrated C’s birthday on Sunday. So, it was one, big birthday weekend! Loved it! Saturday morning I went out for Starbucks and a walk with my sis. Her wedding is only about 6 weeks away so we had lots of wedding details to discuss! It was a blast and such a beautiful fall morning to be sipping coffee and having girl talk. Β  πŸ™‚

Saturday night, C and I went to Dave and Buster’s for a friend’s birthday party! It was so much fun! I’d only eaten at D&B’s one other time; this time I got the Lawnmower Salad, which was filled with tomatoes, peppers, avocado, radishes, and hard boiled egg. I loved it. After lots of eating and general party banter, we moved into the arcade room for some games! Β C and I did some Mario Kart races, skee ball, and several rounds of the claw game! He always wants to win stuffed animals for me, haha. Usually we play the small claw game, but this time we also tried the huge one. The huge claw game is much more difficult, but the prizes are…well, huge. This time we really hit it big and I walked out carrying this baby:

I have since moved the whale to the top shelf in my closet, and every time I look in there, that big whale eye creeps me out just a little. Β πŸ˜›

Sunday morning after church, C and I enjoyed an amazing lunch at one of my favorite lunch spots – Jason’s Deli. I never get anything but the salad bar there, because the salad bar is just too great for me to pass up! Such a good variety of toppings and some extra-special touches like Extra-Virgin Olive Oil, Sea Salt, and whole, hardboiled eggs! What’s not to love?

After lunch, we drove out to C’s house, where his relatives had gathered for a birthday party! There was a lot of delicious-looking food, but I was still full from lunch so I just had some of the fruit. Β After our early dinner, C opened his presents and we sat around the living room, talking for awhile. It was so good to see his family again; I hadn’t been out to his house in awhile.

This week has been really busy with the final preparations for my sis’s bridal shower on Saturday! Lots of emails flying back and forth among the bridesmaids, lots of grocery shopping and errands. I’m really excited for tomorrow! We’ll have lots of delicious food, a fun “how well do you know your groom” game for the bride, gifts, cake, and lots of good girl time. πŸ™‚

The other highlights of my week included a great coffee date with the sweetest friend on Tuesday evening, followed by a nighttime run when I got home! It was such a beautiful night and I was itching to be outside. I had a great 5 mile run with no ipod, just the nighttime sounds and my own huffing and puffing. Β πŸ˜‰

Wednesday night, I went to A’s church with her. It was great service and an awesome time of worship. We sung one of my current favorite songs, Forever Reign, by Hillsong. It’s such a good song that it’s impossible to excerpt, but you can read the full lyrics here: Forever Reign

On that note, I wanted to share something neat that happened on Tuesday! I had a doctor’s appointment on Tuesday, and without going into a bunch of details, there was something a little concerning that needed further testing. Everything turned out to be ok, (thankfully) but the bill was $150, all of which I have to pay out of pocket. (That’s a whole other complicated story) Combined with the $200 I had to pay a couple weeks ago for the x-rays of my wisdom tooth, that adds up to a good amount of unplanned expenses in a short amount of time. Needless to say, I was stressing a littleΒ  a lot about money on Tuesday afternoon! I hate spending money in big chunks, especially on medical things. (Somehow it’s not as painful when I’m spending it on clothes?!) Β I kept trying to just calm down and stop freaking out about it, but it was not going so well. I left my house to meet my friend at Starbucks, and as I was pulling out of the driveway, I noticed it was sprinkling. The sun was still shining, though, and you can probably imagine what happened next… Β I looked up Β to see a rainbow stretching across the sky, poking out of the clouds with gorgeous rays of color! It took my breath away.

This blurry phone pic doesn’t do it justice!

Seeing that rainbow reminded me to focus on the positive things in my life, of which there are many! I am incredibly blessed in so many ways. Yes, the $$$ stuff is stressful, but it helps me calm down when I focus on all that I have to be thankful for. As cheesy as it sounds, the vivid image of color coming out of the clouds reminded me of all the beautiful color in my own life, despite the clouds that may be there too. Even in the midst of my stressful expenses, my personal struggles, my failures and shortcomings, I still have so much to be happy about! Β And that rainbow was just the reminder I needed on Tuesday afternoon. πŸ™‚

Β 

Share your thoughts!

