Spiritual vs Bodily Training

I’ve been reading a lot in 1 Timothy lately and this passage has been especially interesting to me:

“…train yourself for godliness; for while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come.” – 1 Timothy 4:7-8

I spend a good amount of time training my physical body. I enjoy working out, I love to reach new levels in fitness, and I am pretty devoted to keeping my physical body in shape. When I read this passage, the question that hit me was “how much time and effort do I put into training myself for godliness and spiritual growth?” As these verses say, physical training DOES have some value, but spiritual training and growth is even more important. Physical training will benefit us in this life – we’ll feel more energetic, have better health, more focus, etc. – but once this life is over, how much will all that stress over fat, calories, exercise and working out really matter? Whereas, with spiritual training, we are setting ourselves up for more joy and fulfillment not only in this life, but in the life to come.

Don’t get me wrong, I definitely think physical training (i.e., working out) is of great value! But I don’t want to focus so much on my physical body that I neglect my spiritual life and growth. In fact, I want spiritual growth to be my primary focus and the center of my life.

Share your thoughts!

