Plyometrics and Yoga – the perfect balance

Well, it’s been a few days since I wrote anything on here! I’ve had a busy week, but overall it’s been a good one. πŸ™‚

Tuesday was a fun day! Last time A was over, she lent me a couple of her P90X DVDs so I decided to try the Plyometrics one on Tuesday afternoon. I used to do a lot more plyometrics and miss them a lot! Plyometrics are high-intensity and include lots of jumping around, explosion-like exercises…just my kind of thing! πŸ˜› The P90X DVD was an hour long and it was INTENSE. I did a LOT of sweating and may or may not have said some nasty things to Tony Horton while we were doing yet another set of jump squats. It’s a love-hate thing for me. I love being pushed so hard in my workouts but I hate it in the moment. All of that to say, I really loved my first P90X experience! I often get distracted or bored during workout DVDs, but this one was intense and the instructor was funny (corny?) enough to keep me entertained. Win, win!

After sweating bucket-loads in my basement, I came upstairs to shower and get ready for A to come over. Tuesday morning I had been at Schnucks to check out their newly-expanded gluten-free section! It is amazing! I spent over 20 minutes geek-ing out over all the gluten-free pastas, baking mixes, cookies, flours, and other goodies. I came home with a gluten-free chocolate cake mix and decided to make cupcakes for A because she loves chocolate. πŸ™‚ I never ended up icing the cupcakes because everyone agreed they were plenty sweet without it. So, I guess they’re technically more like chocolate muffins. πŸ˜‰ Regardless of the name, they got rave reviews from A and my family!

A and I had a fun girls night, complete with facial masks, painting of the nails, and some girly chick-flicks. (of course!) We watched Last Holiday, which was such sweet movie, and an old classic: Roman Holiday! I guess we were in a holiday theme, for some reason…

Wednesday morning, A and I had a date with Bob Harper. Well, via his Yoga for Warriors DVD. πŸ˜› My calves were TIGHT and sore from the plyometrics on Tuesday so the yoga felt amazing; hurt so good. πŸ˜‰

After enjoying some delicious oatmeal for an 11am brunch, we decided to do some shopping because I needed black pumps for an interview today and A had some gift cards she was eager to use. I never really wore pumps at my previous job. Because the attire was pretty casual, I stuck to flats and wedges, which are much easier on my feet. But, I figured it was probably time to get some classic black pumps…good thing to have on hand, right?

We did some serious damage at the mall, as well as TJ Maxx! But almost everything I got was on sale or a fall staple that I will wear a lot, so that made me feel better about the $$. I got some cute shirts, leggings, black boots, black pumps, and two classy skirts! Really happy with the purchases. I hadn’t been shopping in so long because once I quit my job I decided to really cut back on spending money to be wise about it all. I haven’t even allowed myself into a mall for several months, haha!

This afternoon I did a bunch of studying for IIN and also skype-d with an out-of-town friend. I’m contemplating heading out for a swim at the gym (this morning I did my usual upper-body strength training routine) and probably relaxing with my family tonight. Rumor has it that my sis and her fiancΓ© are coming over for dinner. πŸ™‚

Have a great night!

P.S. Cocoa and I played “fetch” for awhile on Tuesday and I couldn’t resist taking some adorable pictures of her, playing with her ball. Β πŸ˜‰

Share your thoughts!

