Wisdom Teeth Are No Fun!

The good news is: I’m not sick, in the sense of having a cold or flu. The congestion I was feeling on Friday went away after a couple hours, but…

The bad news is: my gum is swollen and inflamed all around my bottom left wisdom tooth. It’s really bad. I’ve been in a lot of pain since Friday and it appears the wisdom tooth (teeth) will need to be pulled. I’m going to call my dentist tomorrow to have him take a look and see if that’s what needs to be done. My wisdom teeth were never pulled when I was younger because my old dentist always checked them at each visit and told me I had plenty of room for them to come in and didn’t need to have them pulled. Which was wonderful at the time, but now, not so much!

Yesterday was a rough day – I was feeling horrible all day and pretty much did nothing other than lay on the couch, watch movies, nap, and eat soft foods.Β  πŸ˜›Β  By the time I went to bed last night, I was emotionally exhausted and down on myself, but hyped up because I couldn’t stop worrying about getting my wisdom teeth pulled! I couldn’t fall asleep for almost 2 hours and kept waking up throughout the night, in pain.

This morning, I finally stopped dozing in and out around 9:30 and decided I needed to get out of bed and try to make theΒ most of my day. In spite of the pain, I felt like a run would help me feel better and the weather outside was so gorgeous! As soon as I started running, I felt better, and after a couple miles I was able to stop thinking about the pain in my gum.

As I ran, I listened to some podcasts from one of my favorite pastors/teachers, Andy Stanley. He’s the pastor of a church in Atlanta and I always keep up with his podcasts on my ipod. They’re one of my favorite things to listen to while I run or work out. On the spur of the moment, I decided to try a new route today on my run. It ended up being beautiful and I ran along so many huge mansions and estates! By the time I looped back home and did one quick lap around my street, I’d done a little over 7 miles. My legs felt strong the whole time and the pace was comfortable but not slow. I don’t know any of the exact stats because I’ve stopped running with my GPS watch lately.Β  Since I’m not technically training for any races right now, I’ve been focusing more on just running for enjoyment and not pressuring myself with distance and pace. I run because I love the way I feel during and after a run. I love being outside and covering miles on my own two feet. I love seeing nature while I run and discovering new routes and trails. I love the feeling of accomplishment when I finish the run, sweaty and exhausted but happy and content. πŸ™‚

I spent the afternoon at home, mostly on my laptop. I caught up on emails and did some work for my sister’s upcoming bridal shower.Β  I also did some knitting, washed my sheets, folded laundry, and put clean sheets on my bed. Is it weird that I get really excited to sleep in my bed the first night after I put on clean sheets?Β  πŸ˜›

Around 5, I decided to make some tea with myΒ Teavana tea set! I brewed some Chocolate Mint teaΒ and lit some votive candles for some added ambiance.

 

This evening I enjoyed dinner with my family and caught up with my sister and her fiancΓ©, who just got back from a weekend in Kansas City. Then I watched the latest Mission Impossible movie with my bro.

Despite being in a lot of pain with my swollen gum, this weekend turned out to be really fun and relaxing! I’mΒ so glad I got in a good run today and some time outside in the gorgeous fall weather.

Off to pop some Advil and hit the sack!

Share your thoughts!

