A Killer Leg Workout…and a Bridal Shower

When it comes to bedtimes, my ideal is lights-out around 10pm. I know, I’m like a grandma! haha. I’ve always been more of an early to bed, early to rise, kind of person. Even in my “prime” (read: high school) I was almost always in bed by 11. I thrive on waking up early; the morning is my favorite time of day. It’s so peaceful and quiet.

All of that was basically just an introduction to the fact that I got to bed later than I would have liked last night. πŸ˜› Hence, I woke up later than usual…around 8:30. I know that might sound rather early for a Saturday morning, but my normal wake-up time on a Saturday is 7 or 7:30 because I find it impossible to sleep much later. I’d been planning for several days to do a leg workout this morning because I’ve really gotten out of the habit lately. Running has taken the place of lower-body strength training for me the past few weeks. I do love the increased running mileage, but I miss the strength training! Running is something I do because I LOVE it…weight training is more a discipline and necessary part of my routine. I know strength training is good for me and I know it helps build muscle/burn fat so I try to lift weights at least 2 or 3 times a week. I have no problem staying on track with upper body weight lifting because I love that and also see results more quickly, for some reason. But with the lower body, I’m always more inclined to go for a run than to bust out the lunges and squats.

Today was the day that lower-body strength training reappeared in my life, though. As soon as I woke up, I grabbed a pen and paper and lay in bed, designing a leg workout that would give me a good burn. I feel like weight lifting is useless if it doesn’t make ya at least a little bit sore. πŸ˜‰ With my paper in hand, I made my way down to the basement to knock out this workout:

15 Bulgarian Split Squats (each leg)

15 Front Squats (holding 30lb bar)

15 Hamstring Curls with Swill Ball (one leg at a time)

60 Seconds Abs (any abs exercise of my choice)

;

15 Bulgarian Squats (each leg)

15 Back Squats (holding 30lb bar)

15 Hamstring Curls with Swiss Ball (one leg at a time)

60 Seconds Abs

;

15 Lunges, Holding 10lb Weights in Each Hand (15 lunges each leg)

15 One-Legged Squats (each leg)

15 Hamstring Curls with Swiss Ball (one leg at a time)

60 Seconds Mountain Climbers

;

15 Lunges, Holding 10lb Weights in Each Hand (15 lunges each leg)

15 One-Legged Squats (each leg)

15 Hamstring Curls with Swiss Ball (one leg at a time)

60 Seconds Mountain Climbers

;

15 Plie Squats, Holding 30lb Weight

15 Single Leg Deadlifts (each leg)

15 Plie Squats, Holding 30lb Weight

15 Single Leg Deadlifts (each leg)

60 Seconds Abs

;

Whew, my legs were on FIRE after this! I was somewhat disappointed by that because I can tell my legs have lost strength over the past month since I haven’t been strength training them! A lot of the weight amounts I used today were far below where I used to be at, which is frustrating. BUT at least I’m getting back into the strength training now, and hopefully it won’t take too long to get back to where I was at!

Moving along, after my awesome leg workout, I enjoyed a delicious bowl of oatmeal with the usual fixings: frozen blueberries and peanut butter, and an insane amount of sea salt. For some reason, I love my oatmeal really salty. It never TASTES salty to me, though. But I put a ton of salt on it. And cinnamon. YUM.

We were off to my aunt’s house for the 12pm shower luncheon. It was such a blast! I don’t yet have pics from the afternoon because my aunt has yet to email them to us, but here’s one I took on my phone of my outfit for the day:

Laura really enjoyed herself, which was the most important thing! And I really enjoyed catching up with all these homeschool moms that I hadn’t talked to in forever! They are all so sweet; I felt so accepted and loved the whole afternoon. Not that it’s about me, but lately I’ve felt so distant and out of place in a lot of the crowds I hang out with, so it was really refreshing to feel like these ladies truly cared about me and how I’m doing. Such a blessing!

I played the “maid of honor role” when it was time for gifts, jotting down the name that corresponded with each gift to make thank you notes simpler for Laura. She got a lot of great stuff from her registry! I always love going to bridal showers where the bride is registered at Bed, Bath and Beyond because the boxes and bags all have that deep purple that is signature of B, B & B. Gorgeous!

Saturday night, I was supposed to go to an engagement party for two of my friends, but I was exhausted from the bridal shower and not feeling that great so I decided to stay home instead. I felt horrible (as I always seem to when I miss social events!) about not going, but at the same time, I was glad I stayed home. It was a nice relaxing evening instead, reading, writing, and eating huge bowls of frozen blueberries until my lips turned blue. (That’s not a joke – they really do turn blue from the blueberry juice) πŸ˜‰

Share your thoughts!

